Ed Tech 579

Reflection #1

What attitudes, skills, and concepts have you gained from participating in the course so far?

   I have had many experiences with Wiki’s in the past, but I have never been so involved with editing them and totally integrating myself in the use of them.  This is definitely a skill that I have gained from participating in this course so far.  

   I have only taken two online classes previous to this one, and have not had to discuss with others or work with others through those experiences.  The experience in this class so far as allowed me to go out of my comfort zone and work with people I do not know and will not meet.  It has been a great experience so far that has pushed me to be more interactive with an online class than I have in the past.

What have you learned in the course that you will not forget tomorrow?

   I have learned the usefulness of diigo.com.  While I found it difficult to figure out at first, throughout the process of making a webliography, I have learned this is a great resource for finding different ideas and resources online.  Instead of just bookmarking a website and then later forgetting why I bookmarked it, I am able to write a description of why I wanted to remember it.

   I have also learned about blogs.  While I have heard my students talking about their blogs all of the time, I was always unsure what I would use them for as well as how to create one.  I now know that I am able to incorporate this into my classroom next year for my students to use.

 

How will you apply what you have learned to your teaching and future learning?

   I work in a middle school in Bloomington Illinois and am our team webmaster.  Before this class I really had no idea what I was doing.  I now have created a new website for my team and will be creating a Wiki for my classroom.  This class has allowed me so far to become more comfortable with technology and the use of unknown technology.  The easiest thing to do is dive in and try!

Comments on: "Reflection #1" (1)

  1. Cheri Toledo said:

    Nice dive … I give you a ’10’!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

